Monday, August 29, 2016

Review 'Morgan's Hunter' by Cate Beauman


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16055633-morgan-s-hunter
Morgan Taylor, D.C. socialite and wildlife biologist, leads a charmed life until everything changes with a phone call. Her research team has been found dead—slaughtered—in backcountry Montana.

As the case grows cold, Morgan is determined to unravel the mystery behind her friends’ gruesome deaths. Despite the dangers of a murderer still free, nothing will stand in her way, not even the bodyguard her father hires, L.A.’s top close protection agent, Hunter Phillips.

Sparks fly from the start when no-nonsense Hunter clashes with Morgan’s strong-willed independence. Their endless search for answers proves hopeless—until Hunter discovers the truth.

On the run and at the mercy of a madman, Morgan and Hunter must outsmart a killer to save their own lives.


The Facts:


Publication Date:
October 15th, 2012
Series:
The Bodyguards of L.A. County #1
Genre:
Contemporary Romance
Pages:
375
Formats:
eBook, Paperback, Audio
Available at:
 

My Review:


A view weeks ago I started reading the Bodyguards of L.A. County series. And ever since I started, I haven’t been able to stop reading these books. And I was really curious about Morgan and Hunters story. So when I got the opportunity to read another book in this series, this was the book I choice and I couldn’t wait to start reading. ‘Morgan’s Hunter’ is the fourth book in the Bodyguards of L.A. County series I read and it’s the first book in the series, but every book can also be read as a standalone. And I’ve been reading these books completely out of order.

‘Morgan’s Hunter’ is definitely another great story. Morgan is a wildlife biologist and her parents happen to be very rich. Morgan is easily thought of as a privileged and sometimes spoiled woman. But that is definitely not who Morgan is. Morgan loves her job as a wildlife biologist, and loves spending time in the woods searching for wildlife. I loved how Morgan definitely wasn’t your average ‘rich’ girl.
Hunter is scarred by his time in Afghanistan and the friends and colleagues he lost. He now works as a bodyguard. Hunter is very good at keeping people at a distance, but when he meets Morgan he soon realizes she is more than meets the eye. I sure loved reading about how these two fell in love.

Just like the other books in this series I read, I loved Morgan’s Hunter. I really enjoyed getting to know Morgan and Hunter. And it was definitely fun to read about their adventures in backcountry Montana. Their attraction to one other was obvious from the moment they met, but they both had a lot of prejudices. It was a lot of fun to read about how they struggled with their growing feelings for one another.

Although the overall storyline is a little less than the other books in this series, I still give this book five stars. I loved it and really enjoyed reading every single word! But there was a little less suspense and action, than in the other books. But as a first book in a series, this book would have definitely grabbed my attention and made me want to read more and more. For me.. I was already hooked to this series, and I definitely need to read them all!! 

Want to read my other reviews of the Bodyguards of L.A. County series? Visit the links: 'Saving Sophie and Falling For Sarah',  'Justice For Abby'.

My Rating:


About the Author:


International bestselling author Cate Beauman is known for her full-length, action-packed romantic suspense series, The Bodyguards of L.A. County. Her novels have been nominated for the National Excellence in Romance Fiction Award, National Indie Excellence Award, Golden Quill Award, Writers Touch Award, and have been named Readers Favorite Five Star books. In 2015,  ‘Justice For Abby’ was selected as the Readers' Favorite International Book Award Gold Medalist, while ‘Saving Sophie’ took the Silver Medal. ‘Saving Sophie’ was also selected as the 2015 Readers Crown Award winner for Romantic Suspense and ‘Falling For Sarah’ received the silver medal for the 2014 Readers' Favorite Awards. Cate makes her home in North Carolina with her husband, two boys, and their St. Bernards, Bear and Jack.

Cate makes her home in North Carolina with her husband, two boys, and their St. Bernards, Bear and Jack. Currently Cate is working on Deceiving Bella, the eleventh novel in her popular Bodyguards series. For information on Cate's new releases, monthly giveaways, and upcoming events, sign up for her newsletter at: http://www.catebeauman.com/author/home.html#!newsletter-sign-up/c9td 
 
For more information about Cate Beauman please visit her website. Or visit her on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads.

I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, August 26, 2016

Blog Tour 'If I Only Had A Duke' by Lenora Bell


Today I’m excited to participate in the Blog Tour of ‘If I Only Had a Duke’ by Lenora Bell. This is a Historical Romance novel and the second book in the Disgraceful Dukes series. ‘If I Only Had a Duke’ will be published on August 30th, 2016 by Piatkus.

About the Book:


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30312986-if-i-only-had-a-duke
From the author of How the Duke was Won comes the second book in the Disgraceful Dukes series, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Sarah MacLean, Johanna Lindsey, Eloisa James or Georgette Heyer.

After four failed seasons and a disastrous jilting, Lady Dorothea Beaumont has had more than enough of her family’s scheming. She won’t domesticate a duke, entangle an earl or vie for a viscount. She will quietly exit to her aunt’s Irish estate for a life of blissful freedom. Until an arrogant, sinfully handsome duke singles her out for a waltz, making Thea the most popular belle of the season . . . well, the duke ruined her plans and now he’ll just have to fix them.

Dalton, Duke of Osborne, is far too heartless for debutantes or marriage – he uses dalliances to distract from his real purpose: finding the man who destroyed his family. When his search leads to Ireland, the last thing he needs is the determined, achingly innocent Thea, who arrives in the dead of night demanding he escort her to her aunt. His foolish agreement may prove his undoing. The road to the Emerald Isle is fraught with unforeseen dangers, but the greatest peril of all might just be discovering that he has a heart . . . and he’s losing it to Thea.

The Facts:


Publication Date:
August 30th, 2016
Series:
The Disgraceful Dukes #2
Genre:
Historical Romance
Pages:
384
Formats:
eBook, Paperback
Available at:
  

My Review:


A view week ago I read the first Lenora Bell book called ‘How the Duke Was Won’. I loved that book and I couldn’t get enough of it. So when I received the second book in the series ‘If I Only Had a Duke’ I couldn’t wait to start reading.

In ‘If I Only Had a Duke’ we meet Lady Dorothea. Thea has had a view failed seasons and is now happily living with her aunt in Ireland. Unfortunately for Thea she has to go back to London for a last season. Thea knows this is just a waste of her time. No one would want to marry the girl who can’t even talk to a man! But Thea decides to make the most of her time back in London and tries to talk to Dalton, the Duke of Osborne to convince him to give her access to his late father’s art collection. But the Duke has other plans and soon Thea is one of the most popular girls of the season.

I really loved Lady Dorothea. She was this shy girl on the outside, but when we got to know her better she was very smart, kind, brave and definitely a little feisty. I loved the way she fought to break free of her suppressive family.
Dalton was this supposed ‘bad’ guy. But I soon realized there was so much more to his character. I especially liked how protective Dalton was of Thea. It was so sweet.
And the conversations between Thea and Dalton where very entertaining. I loved reading about their discussions and how frustrated Dalton got with Thea. It definitely made me laugh out loud!

‘If I Only Had a Duke’ was a great story. Not only is it very romantic, and definitely sexy.. There’s also enough action and adventures going on to keep you hooked to the pages. I read this book in one day because I just couldn’t stop reading. The main characters Thea and Dalton have an amazing chemistry and it was so much fun to get to know these two characters.

Lenora Bell did another great job and I can’t wait to read the third book in the Disgraceful Dukes series.

My Rating:

The Blog Tour:



About the Author:


Lenora Bell grew up in a tiny town in Alaska with no streetlights, no movie theatre, but a very well-endowed library. A graduate of Portland State University’s MFA in Creative Writing program, she has lived and taught English on five continents. Lenora currently shares a cabin in Switzerland with her husband and two naughty tiger-striped kitties.

For more information about Lenora Bell please visit her website. Or visit her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.

I received this book from the Little, Brown Book Group in exchange for my honest review.
 
https://www.littlebrown.co.uk/
 
Imagination Designs
Artwork from: www.createthecut.com